Thursday, August 1, 2013

GIVEAWAY Winner & Book Beginning: Flying Finish by Dick Francis


Please join me every Friday to share the first sentence (or so) of the book you are reading, along with your initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires. Please remember to include the title of the book and the author's name.

GIVEAWAY WINNER

First, an announcement of the winner of last week's giveaway, The Life List by Lori Nelson Spielman. Big thanks to everyone who left comments to participate. You can read more about The Life List here.


JC Jones from Mixed Book Bag is the big winner.  Her's was the 9th comment and the one chosen by random.org.  JC is a double winner because, in addition to her copy, she can host her own giveaway for another coy. Congratulations JC! Enjoy "this utterly charming debut—perfect for fans of Cecelia Ahern’s P.S., I Love You and Allison Winn Scotch’s Time of My Life."


BOOK BEGINNINGS

EARLY BIRDS: I am experimenting with getting this post up Thursday evening for those who like to get their posts up and linked early on. We'll try it this way for a couple of months to see if people like the option of early posting. If you have feelings one way or the other, please comment.

TWITTER, ETC: If you are on Twitter, Google+, or other social media, please post using the hash tag #BookBeginnings. I am trying to follow all Book Beginning participants on whatever interweb sites you are on, so please let me know if I have missed any and I will catch up.

MR. LINKY: Please leave a link to your post below. If you don't have a blog, but want to participate, please leave a comment with your Book Beginning.



MY BOOK BEGINNING




“You’re a spoiled, bad-tempered bastard,” my sister said, and jolted me into a course I nearly died of.

-- Flying Finish by Dick Francis.  That's a great beginning in the way it looks backwards (why is his sister mad at him?) and forwards (how how does he almost die?).  I'm a big fan of Dick Francis's novels.  This is one of his earlier ones, first published in 1966. 

13 comments :

  1. I've never read Dick Francis' work but this opener makes me want to. It sounds like it is going to be a fantastic read. Thanks for hosting Book Beginnings! Have a great weekend!
    Happy Reading,
    Rebecca @ The Key to the Gate

    ReplyDelete
  2. Don't think you've caught me on social media yet. Link will take you to me on Google Plus. On twitter, I'm carstairs38

    ReplyDelete
  3. Yeah...it doesn't sound like his sister is happy with him.

    ReplyDelete
  4. It is an amazing beginning, if slightly terrifying! My sister and I are thankfully very nice to each other XD Thanks for sharing and hosting!
    My Friday Post
    Juli @ Universe in Words

    ReplyDelete
  5. I absoluely love Dick Fracis books, but I haven't read this one yet.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Wow, I suspect that comment had been brewing for awhile....

    Congrats to Jo for winning the giveaway!

    ReplyDelete
  7. Wow, beware of that sister! XD

    Thanks for hosting!

    ReplyDelete
  8. Thanks, I just read that I won. Do you need any additional information from me. I love that beginning. Dick Frances is one of my favorite mystery writers. His book never go out of style.

    ReplyDelete
  9. Congrats Jo, on the win!

    ReplyDelete

  10. that's a good opening to catch the reader!

    ReplyDelete
  11. I have read a Dick Francis book, but I can't remember which one. I do remember I liked it, though.

    I haven't participated for a while. I am glad I remembered.

    ReplyDelete
  12. OOPS..forgot my link.

    Elizabeth
    Silver's Reviews
    My Book Beginnings

    ReplyDelete
  13. Great opening, hints of dramatic things to come! Hope you're enjoying this one.

    ReplyDelete

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...