Wednesday, September 25, 2019

Favorite Author: Ian Rankin

John Rebus is the kind of curmudgeon cop I love for the hero of a detective series. He’s a loner, he drinks too much, eats bad food, is out of touch with popular culture, and is generally grouchy. He’s me if I were a police detective.

That he works in Edinburgh, one of my favorite cities, makes Ian Rankin’s long-running Rebus series, and it’s Malcolm Fox tie-in, some of my favorite mystery novels out there.

Here is a list of all of Ian Rankin’s books. I’m actively trying to get through the Rebus series. I started the Fox series but when they dovetailed with the Rebus books, I put them on hold so I could catch up. I may get to the other novels someday. I will most likely not get to the graphic novel, stage play, or other one-offs.

Those I have read are in red; those on my TBR shelf are in blue.

If you are an Ian Rankin fan, please feel free to leave links to related posts in a comment below and I will add your link in the section below.


Knots and Crosses (1987)

Hide and Seek (1991)

Tooth and Nail (1992)

A Good Hanging (short stories)

Strip Jack (1992)

The Black Book (1993)

Mortal Causes (1994)

Let it Bleed (1994)

Black and Blue (1997)

The Hanging Garden (1998)

Dead Souls (1999)

Set in Darkness (2000)

The Falls (2001)

Resurrection Men (2002)

A Question of Blood (2003)

Fleshmarket Alley (called Fleshmarket Close in the UK edition) (2004)

The Naming of the Dead (2006)

Exit Music (2007)

The Complaints (Fox only)

The Impossible Dead (Fox only)

Standing in Another Man's Grave (Rebus & Fox) (2012)

Saints of the Shadow Bible (Rebus & Fox) (2013)

The Beat Goes On: The Complete Rebus Stories (2014)

Even Dogs in the Wild (Rebus & Fox) (2015)

Rather Be the Devil (Rebus & Fox) (2016)

In a House of Lies (2018)


The Flood (1986)

Watchman (1988)

Westwind (1990)

Witch Hunt (writing as Jack Harvey) (1993)

Bleeding Hearts (writing as Jack Harvey) (1994)

Blood Hunt (writing as Jack Harvey) (1995)

Beggars Banquet (short stories, seven Rebus and 14 others) (2002)

Rebus's Scotland: A Personal Journey (nonfiction) (2005)

The Complete Short Stories (omnibus: A Good Hanging & Other Stories and Beggar's Banquet plus one new story, "Atonement") (2005)

Doors Open (2008)

A Cool Head (a "Quick Reads") (2009)

Dark Entries (a graphic novel) (2009)

Dark Road (stage play written with Mark Thompson) (2014)

The Travelling Companion (short story) (2016)


If you have Rankin-related posts that you would like listed here, please leave a comment with a link and I will add it.


Last updated on September 21, 2019.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...