Sunday, January 9, 2011

Favorite Author: C. P. Snow

C. P. Snow (1905 - 1980) was a British author best known for his 11-volume "Strangers and Brother's" series. Published between 1940 and 1974, the series follows several characters through careers in academia and government.

He wrote several other books as well, but I am going to concentrate on S&B. 

So far, I have read the first three volumes, in red below. Those on my TBR shelf are in blue.

Most recommend reading the series in the order listed below so that the narrative is chronological.   

A Time of Hope (1949) (reviewed here)

George Passant (originally titled Strangers and Brothers) (1940) (reviewed here)

The Conscience of the Rich (1958)

The Light and the Dark (1947)

The Masters (1951)

The New Men (1954)

Homecomings (1956)

The Affair (1960)

Corridors of Power (1964)

The Sleep of Reason (1968)

Last Things (1970)

The Masters and The New Men were jointly awarded the James Tait Black Memorial Prize in 1954.


If anyone else has reviews of these books or other posts related to C. P. Snow, please leave a comment with a link and I will add it.

Last updated November 17, 2013.


  1. I've only read two non-fiction books by Snow, The Other Side of the River : Red China Today, and Variety of Men, many decades ago. I enjoyed his writing thoroughly but am mostly unfamiliar with any fiction he wrote. I'll follow your thoughts on his books with interest.

  2. I am now ready to read the next one and have changed my mind about reading them in publication order. Now I think I will go back and read A Time of Hope and get into the pattern of reading them so the narrative goes in order.


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...