Thursday, April 10, 2008

National Book Award

Of the many lists of prize winners and recommended books I have going, I’ve been working for the past several years on reading the winners of the National Book Award. I recently found and joined the National Book Award Project – a group blog focusing on the winners and finalists of the NBA. I’ll be posting about my progress there as well as here. According to Lists of Bests, I am 38% finished with this list. Those I’ve finished are in red; those I own but haven’t read yet are in blue. 2007 Tree of Smoke by Denis Johnson 2006 The Echo Maker by Richard Powers 2005 Europe Central by William T. Vollmann 2004 The News from Paraguay by Lily Tuck 2003 The Great Fire by Shirley Hazzard 2002 Three Junes by Julia Glass 2001 The Corrections by Jonathan Franzen 2000 In America by Susan Sontag 1999 Waiting by Ha Jin 1998 Charming Billy by Alice McDermott 1997 Cold Mountain by Charles Frazier 1996 Ship Fever and Other Stories by Andrea Barrett 1995 Sabbath's Theater by Philip Roth 1994 A Frolic of His Own by William Gaddis 1993 The Shipping News by E. Annie Proulx 1992 All the Pretty Horses by Cormac McCarthy 1991 Mating by Norman Rush 1990 Middle Passage by Charles Johnson 1989 Spartina by John Casey 1988 Paris Trout by Pete Dexter 1987 Paco's Story by Larry Heinemann 1986 World's Fair by E.L. Doctorow 1985 White Noise by Don Delillo 1984 Victory Over Japan by Ellen Gilchrist 1983 The Color Purple by Alice Walker 1982 Rabbit is Rich by John Updike 1981 Plains Song by Wright Morris 1980 Sophie's Choice by William Styron 1979 Going After Cacciato by Tim O'Brien 1978 Blood Ties by Mary Lee Settle 1977 The Spectator Bird by Wallace Stegner 1976 JR by William Gaddis 1975 The Hair of Harold Roux by Thomas Williams 1975 Dog Soldiers by Robert Stone 1974 Gravity's Ranbow by Thomas Pynchon 1974 A Crown of Feathers and Other Stories by Isaac Bashevis Singer 1973 Augustus by John Williams 1973 Chimera by John Barth 1972 The Complete Stories by Flannery O'Connor 1971 Mr. Sammler's Planet by Saul Bellow 1970 Them by Joyce Carol Oates 1969 Steps by Jerzy Kosinski 1968 The Eighth Day by Thornton Wilder 1967 The Fixer by Bernard Malamud 1966 The Collected Stories by Katherine Anne Porter 1965 Herzog by Saul Bellow 1964 The Centaur by John Updike 1963 Morte d'Urban by J.F. Powers 1962 The Moviegoer by Walker Percy 1961 The Waters of Kronos by Conrad Richter 1960 Goodbye Columbus by Philip Roth 1959 The Magic Barrell by Bernard Malamud 1958 Wapshot Chronicle by John Cheever 1957 The Field of Vision by Wright Morris 1956 Ten North Frederick by John O'Hara 1955 A Fable by William Faulkner 1954 The Adventures of Augie March by Saul Bellow 1953 Invisible Man by Ralph Ellison 1952 From Here to Eternity by James Jones 1951 The Collected Stories by William Faulkner 1950 The Man with the Golden Arm by Nelson Algren

No comments :

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...