Friday, March 28, 2008

List: The Man Booker Prize

The Booker Prize is awarded each year for a "full-length novel, written by a citizen of the Commonwealth or the Republic of Ireland . . . . The novel must be an original work in English (not a translation) and must not be self-published."

If anyone else working on this list would like me to post a link to your progress report(s), please leave a comment with a link and I will add it below.

Here is the list, with those I have finished reading in red; those on my TBR shelf in blue:

1969: Percy Howard Newby, Something to Answer For

1970: Bernice Rubens, The Elected Member

1971: V.S. Naipaul, In a Free State

1972: John Berger, G (reviewed here)

1973: James Gordon Farrell, The Siege of Krishnapur

1974: Nadine Gordimer, The Conservationist, and Stanley Middleton, Holiday

1975: Ruth Prawer Jhabvala, Heat and Dust

1976: David Storey, Saville

1977: Paul Scott, Staying On

1978: Iris Murdoch, The Sea, the Sea (reviewed here)

1979: Penelope Fitzgerald, Offshore

1980: William Golding, Rites of Passage

1981: Salman Rushdie, Midnight's Children (reviewed here)

1982: Thomas Keneally, Schindler's List

1983: J. M. Coetzee, The Life and Times of Michael K(reviewed here)

1984: Anita Brookner, Hotel du Lac

1985: Keri Hulme, The Bone People(reviewed here)

1986: Kingsley Amis, The Old Devils

1987: Penelope Lively, Moon Tiger

1988: Peter Carey, Oscar and Lucinda

1989: Kazuo Ishiguro, The Remains of the Day

1990: A.S. Byatt, Possession

1991: Ben Okri, The Famished Road

1992: Michael Ondaatje, The English Patient, and Barry Unsworth, Sacred Hunger

1993: Roddy Doyle, Paddy Clarke Ha Ha Ha

1994: James Kelman, How Late it Was, How Late

1995: Pat Barker, The Ghost Road

1996: Graham Swift, Last Orders

1997: Arundhati Roy, The God of Small Things

1998: Ian McEwan, Amsterdam

1999: J. M. Coetzee, Disgrace

2000: Margaret Atwood, The Blind Assassin

2001: Peter Carey, True History of the Kelly Gang

2002: Yann Martel, Life of Pi

2003: DBC Pierre, Vernon God Little

2004: Alan Hollinghurst, The Line of Beauty

2005: John Banville, The Sea (reviewed here)

2006: Kiran Desai, The Inheritance of Loss

2007: Anne Enright, The Gathering

2008: Aravind Adiga, The White Tiger

2009: Hilary Mantel, Wolf Hall (reviewed here)

2010: Howard Jacobson, The Finkler Question (reviewed here)

2011: Julian Barnes, The Sense of an Ending


Last updated on June 24, 2012.


Farm Lane Books
Fresh Ink Books
Hotch Pot Cafe

If you would like to be listed here, please leave a comment with links to your progress reports or reviews and I will add them here)


  1. I'm reading all the Bookers too!

    You can find my list here:

    I'm attempting to read all the books short listed for the prize too, so my list contains all of those too.

  2. Thanks for the link! :-)

  3. Okay, I found your Booker post. I see you have me still linked. I've updated but not read nearly as many winners as you. That's because I read those on the short and longlists too. Glad to see you're hard at it, I'm impressed you've read 21 of the winners. I'll have to check out some of your reviews.

  4. Sandra -- I updated your link. I am impressed that you are reading all the contenders and not just the winners. Wow! That is a long-term project.

  5. I've recently read 4 from this year's longlist: February**** by Lisa Moore, Trespass**** by Rose Tremain, The Thousand Autumns of Jacob De Zoet****+ by David Mitchell, and In a Strange Room**** by Damon Glagut. I enjoyed them all. The only one that's a possible winner is Mitchell's book but I'm hoping there's something even more striking on the list. Happy reading.


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...