Thursday, August 1, 2013

GIVEAWAY Winner & Book Beginning: Flying Finish by Dick Francis

Please join me every Friday to share the first sentence (or so) of the book you are reading, along with your initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires. Please remember to include the title of the book and the author's name.


First, an announcement of the winner of last week's giveaway, The Life List by Lori Nelson Spielman. Big thanks to everyone who left comments to participate. You can read more about The Life List here.

JC Jones from Mixed Book Bag is the big winner.  Her's was the 9th comment and the one chosen by  JC is a double winner because, in addition to her copy, she can host her own giveaway for another coy. Congratulations JC! Enjoy "this utterly charming debut—perfect for fans of Cecelia Ahern’s P.S., I Love You and Allison Winn Scotch’s Time of My Life."


EARLY BIRDS: I am experimenting with getting this post up Thursday evening for those who like to get their posts up and linked early on. We'll try it this way for a couple of months to see if people like the option of early posting. If you have feelings one way or the other, please comment.

TWITTER, ETC: If you are on Twitter, Google+, or other social media, please post using the hash tag #BookBeginnings. I am trying to follow all Book Beginning participants on whatever interweb sites you are on, so please let me know if I have missed any and I will catch up.

MR. LINKY: Please leave a link to your post below. If you don't have a blog, but want to participate, please leave a comment with your Book Beginning.


“You’re a spoiled, bad-tempered bastard,” my sister said, and jolted me into a course I nearly died of.

-- Flying Finish by Dick Francis.  That's a great beginning in the way it looks backwards (why is his sister mad at him?) and forwards (how how does he almost die?).  I'm a big fan of Dick Francis's novels.  This is one of his earlier ones, first published in 1966. 


Rebecca said...

I've never read Dick Francis' work but this opener makes me want to. It sounds like it is going to be a fantastic read. Thanks for hosting Book Beginnings! Have a great weekend!
Happy Reading,
Rebecca @ The Key to the Gate

Mark Baker said...

Don't think you've caught me on social media yet. Link will take you to me on Google Plus. On twitter, I'm carstairs38

Vonnie R said... doesn't sound like his sister is happy with him.

Juli Rahel said...

It is an amazing beginning, if slightly terrifying! My sister and I are thankfully very nice to each other XD Thanks for sharing and hosting!
My Friday Post
Juli @ Universe in Words

Jasmyn Novachek said...

I absoluely love Dick Fracis books, but I haven't read this one yet.

Creations by Laurel-Rain Snow said...

Wow, I suspect that comment had been brewing for awhile....

Congrats to Jo for winning the giveaway!

Kasumi said...

Wow, beware of that sister! XD

Thanks for hosting!

JC Jones said...

Thanks, I just read that I won. Do you need any additional information from me. I love that beginning. Dick Frances is one of my favorite mystery writers. His book never go out of style.

fredamans said...

Congrats Jo, on the win!

Harvee @ Book Dilettante said...

that's a good opening to catch the reader!

Elizabeth said...

I have read a Dick Francis book, but I can't remember which one. I do remember I liked it, though.

I haven't participated for a while. I am glad I remembered.

Elizabeth said...

OOPS..forgot my link.

Silver's Reviews
My Book Beginnings

Lindsay said...

Great opening, hints of dramatic things to come! Hope you're enjoying this one.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...