Sunday, March 14, 2010

Author of the Day: C. P. Snow

Strangers and Brothers is a series of novels by C. P. Snow, published between 1940 and 1974. Set in England, all eleven novels in the series are narrated by Lewis Eliot and follow his life and career from humble beginnings to a reasonably successful career as a London lawyer and Cambridge don, through wartime service in Whitehall, to a later career as a senior civil servant and, finally, retirement.

I have not read any of these books yet, but they have been on my radar for quite a while and several are on my TBR shelf. My plan is to read them in narrative order rather than publication order, so that is the way they are listed below.

Those on my TBR shelf now are in blue.

Time of Hope (1949)
George Passant (first called Strangers and Brothers) (1940)
The Conscience of the Rich (1958)
The Light and the Dark (1947)
The Masters (1951)
The New Men (1954)
Homecomings (1956)
The Affair (1960)
Corridors of Power (1964)
The Sleep of Reason (1968)
Last Things (1970)


Books Do Furnish a Room (a thorough review of the series)

(If you are also reading this series and would like me to list you here, please leave a comment with a link to your progress reports or reviews and I will add them.)

No comments :

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...