Sunday, March 6, 2011

Author of the Day: P. D. James

P. D. James is an English novelist, best known for her mystery series featuring policeman and poet Adam Dalgliesh. She also has two mysteries starring Cordelia Gray, three stand-alone novels, and three non-fiction books.

At 91, she is still writing and is a Life Peer in the House of Lords.

I am fairly new to James and, so far, have only read the first five Dalgliesh books.  All have been set in some kind of closed society -- an adaptation of the "closed room" mystery.

Those I have read are in red; those currently on my TBR shelf are in blue.


Cover Her Face (1962) (country house)

A Mind to Murder (1963) (private mental hospital)

Unnatural Causes (1967) (writers' colony)

Shroud for a Nightingale (1971) (nursing school)

The Black Tower (1975) (reviewed here) (adult care home)

Death of an Expert Witness (1977) (forensic lab)

A Taste for Death (1986)

Devices and Desires (1989)

Original Sin (1994)

A Certain Justice (1997)

Death in Holy Orders (2001)

The Murder Room (2003)

The Lighthouse (2005)

The Private Patient (2008)


An Unsuitable Job for a Woman (1972)

The Skull Beneath the Skin (1982)


Innocent Blood (1980)

The Children of Men (1992)

Death Comes to Pemberley (2011)


The Maul and the Pear Tree: The Ratcliffe Highway Murders, 1811 (1971), with Thomas A. Critchley

Time to Be in Earnest: A Fragment of Autobiography (1999)

Talking About Detective Fiction (2009)

Last updated on December 26, 2012.

Pin It
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...