Thursday, November 24, 2016

Book Beginning: Secondhand Smoke by M. Louis



THANKS FOR JOINING ME ON FRIDAYS FOR BOOK BEGINNING FUN!

Please join me every Friday to share the first sentence (or so) of the book you are reading, along with your initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires. Please remember to include the title of the book and the author’s name.

EARLY BIRDS & SLOWPOKES: This weekly post goes up Thursday evening (Happy Thanksgiving!) for those who like to get their posts up and linked early on. But feel free to add a link all week.

FACEBOOK: Rose City Reader has a Facebook page where I post about new and favorite books, book events, and other bookish tidbits, as well as link to blog posts. I'd love a "Like" on the page! You can go to the page here to Like it. I am happy to Like you back if you have a blog or professional Facebook page, so please leave a comment with a link and I will find you.

TWITTER, ETC: If you are on Twitter, Google+, or other social media, please post using the hash tag #BookBeginnings. I try to follow all Book  Beginnings participants on whatever interweb sites you are on, so please let me know if I have missed any and I will catch up.

TIE IN: The Friday 56 hosted by Freda's Voice is a natural tie in with this event and there is a lot of cross over, so many people combine the two. The idea is to post a teaser from page 56 of the book you are reading and share a link to your post. Find details and the Linky for your Friday 56 post on Freda’s Voice.

YOUR BOOK BEGINNING



MY BOOK BEGINNING



He thinks he's safe. But he's not.

Secondhand Smoke by M. Louis. This is the second in a mystery series featuring Portland PI Jake Brand.

Jake is solidly in the tradition of Philip Marlowe or Lou Archer -- but don't let his wise cracking, self-deprecating ways fool you. I think he's going to catch the bad guys, even if he doesn't end up with the girl -- yet.

14 comments :

fredamans said...

Very intriguing!

Sandra Nachlinger said...

Good beginning sentence. A real grabber! I'd HAVE to keep reading.
Thanks for hosting Book Beginnings.

Juli Witte said...

Well that's one way to ramp the tensioo back up! I finally have wifi so I've rejoined the blogging community after a 2 motn hiatus :D And o course BB is the first thing I do! Thanks for sharing :) I hope you have a great week!
My Friday Post
Juli @ Universe in Words

Bev Bouwer said...

Of course, he eventually gets the girl too? I like the opening line.

Maria said...

I'll have to add this series to my list - have never read anything by this author and I love mysteries, thrillers and PI books:)

Amanda said...

Definitely an attention-grabbing first sentence!

Yvonne@fiction-books said...

Hi Gilion,

Of course that single line would have me hooked and needing to read on, although I'm not sure if this style of writing is just a little too 'tongue in cheek' for me, the synopsis reminds me very much of a Harlen Coben style story.

For you, this is a local author though and if you are anything like me, I always try to support local if possible. I am also wondering if the stories work as stand alones, or if they really need to be read in sequence, so I may go back and check out the first story.

Thanks for sharing and hosting and I hope that you enjoyed a lovely Thanksgiving day :)

Yvonne

JC Jones said...

I put the wrong link in. Here is the correct one: https://mixedbookbag.blogspot.com/2016/11/stacking-shelves-and-friday-56-november.html It is also correct on The Friday 56

Lauren Stoolfire said...

Philip Marlowe - I'm sold!

Laurel-Rain Snow said...

A very tempting beginning. Thanks for sharing...and for hosting.

Lisa Ks Book Reviews said...

I haven't heard of this author. Sounds interesting. Thanks for sharing.

Roberta said...

The author has an intriguing voice. Sets up the conflict nicely.

William Stanger said...

That's a curious beginning. Hope you enjoy this one.

Elizabeth said...

This book sounds very good.

I have an audio excerpt of it, and a giveaway on my blog scheduled for November 29.

Stop by if you like.

ENJOY your weekend.

Elizabeth
Silver's Reviews
My Book Beginnings

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...