Sunday, June 1, 2014

Mailbox Monday: Jam Today Too by Tod Davies



Thanks for joining me for Mailbox Monday! MM was created by Marcia, who graciously hosted it for a long, long time, before turning it into a touring event. Mailbox Monday has now returned to its permanent home where you can link to your MM post.

I got one new book last week:



Jam Today Too: The Revolution Will Not be Catered by Tod Davies, published by Exterminating Angel Press.

The first book in this series of food and cooking essay collections, Jam Today: A Diary of Cooking With What You've Got, flitted across my radar but then fell off.  So I was very happy to get a copy of this second book in the series.  And even more pleased to realize that Davies is an Oregon author, at least part time (she also lives in Boulder, Colorado).

Jam Today Too is a collection of essays in the tradition of MFK Fisher, Elizabeth David, or Jim Harrison -- reflections on what to eat, why to eat it, and how to make it.  Davies' chatty style offers recipes along with anecdotes about when she made the dishes, including cooking in an RV after their house flooded, cooking for grieving friends, recreating childhood favorites, and cooking for solo meals.  Reading the pieces feels like sitting at the kitchen counter with a glass of wine, talking with your friend while she cooks dinner.


WEEKEND COOKING



Pin It

3 comments:

bermudaonion said...

Essays about food? It sounds terrific to me.

samstillreading said...

That sounds fun - and yummy!

Beth F said...

Sounds like my kind of book. I love foodie essays!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...